Fallacies of life: Love and Marriage

There are many fallacies, but today I will talk of two: Love and Marriage.

Love:
Love is God’s greatest commandment. All religions preach it, or some form of it. Most of us try to follow some religion or the other, or at least a set of rules governed by spirituality. To feel love and belong is one of man’s greatest desires. And yet, Love is something we, at best, only attempt. Let me elucidate:

Barring exception cases, do you think it’s possible to truly “love” someone? I’m not talking about stuff mistaken for love: infatuation, or mild caring, or sexual attachment, or down-the-hierarchy responsibility, or other species love. I’m talking about real, hardcore, unadulterated love – no strings attached. Do you think it’s possible?… for humans…?

As I grew up, it was ingrained in me, through religious doctoring, that the only love that is and can be absolute, is God’s love. And yet, this is love that some of God’s children claim not to feel or experience. This is the love that singles don’t feel when ravaged by pangs continually experienced by the lonely. Or the distressed don’t seem to encounter when searching for an immediate solution. It may be divine love, but the good shepherd does not seem to hold your hand and walk you through a problem that seems to be a life-and-death crises. How many of you have seen the perverted work of madmen, or the result of war, or cruelty to the defenceless, and asked, “if there’s a God, where is He now?”.

I then got myself around the assumption that the next closest form of near-absolute love – the earthly kind – is what should exist between a mother and her child. And I find that even this kind of love is more governed by responsibility and/or societal obligations. Orthodox cultures will not allow a daughter to return to her parental home even if she is facing a dire situation at her spouse’s house. Those familiar with pathology professions will relate of many cytogenetic cases wherein the mother – sometimes, both parents – do not want to hold or even look at their deformed baby. And most of us have seen or encountered preferential treatment given by parents / guardians to certain siblings on the basis of their skin colour, earning capacity, looks, demeanour, etc.

The down-the-hierarchy love – older to younger sibling – is also not totally free from negative encumbrances, as it is tainted mostly by responsibility, especially in cases where parental guidance is immature. And you will generally notice that, in such cases, the down-side love is often stronger than up-side love.

And the same is the case with other species love (human to animal/pet). This too, is governed by responsibility and the idea that, in that equation, the human will be at the receiving end mostly. Why do I say this? Would you keep an animal if only the animal needs you and you don’t need to expect/feel that animal’s love even in the smallest form? Especially if you are not a breeder / collector or aim to get a profit out of the arrangement?

And my fellow humans… Do you feel secure of spousal love in the protective cocoon of your marriages? I would hazard a guess with the divorce rates in most urban settings well beyond the 50% mark. Some of you will convincingly say I really love my partner; to these people I have some questions: would you want to maintain a marital relationship if you know there can be no sexual love? Would you be hunky-dory about your spouse when emotional love has become one-sided? Would you continue to stay married if your spouse abused you, especially by withholding love when you needed it the most? Would you be willing to go to jail, be used, or die for a person just because you love them?

I ask this purely in a literal sense. I know if someone knowingly wants you to endure any of these conditions, they don’t love you; my point is would you be willing to love so completely? Would you be willing to give up someone you love to someone you despise, and live the rest of your life either alone or with someone you don’t care about just because love demanded it?

With marriage in mind, would you be agreeable to fall in love and live the rest of your life with a person who has nothing to offer – no money, no fame/glamour, no looks and no personality? I am sure that no woman would marry such a man in this day and age. And yet, these same women would go to the alter and mouth fake promises before God about lifelong love for their spouse. How could a lifelong vow change because a man loses his job or a woman, her beauty? And before you begin to disagree about the materialism in love, let me ask you – if today, Jesus, a 33 year-old man proposed to you, would you truly accept? Place yourself in that time and be objective. Remember, you haven’t heard of his death, or validated his miracles, etc. To you, Jesus would be a wandering vagrant, maybe a quack/sadhu, with long hair, no money/possessions, no charming personality, no status, no designer wear, etc., babbling that He was the Son of God. If you women would not want to marry such a man, why would you want to go to his church and pretend to abide by his love rules?

And I have not only singled out women, because men are equally despicable in these matters.

Marriage:
When we choose to love someone, we usually get the love that we choose to want. When most of us look for someone to marry, we start to make our choice based on things that have absolutely nothing to do with real love: need for sex, security, looks, power, possessions, etc. Put your hand on your heart and ask yourself in truth about the parameters you set when choosing your own mate. Now is the time to bring out that little checklist you have created in your mind – a checklist you have created for selfish reasons of what you want to get out the marriage. On closer scrutiny, much to your astonishment, you will find there is nothing (or hardly anything) in that list of what you want to contribute to for that someone you are willing to “profess” love for. At least, not in the measure you want for yourself. How can you not expect your marriage to fail then?

Doesn’t the bible have this adage: live by the sword, die by the sword? When you marry for sex, money, security, looks, etc., and these things die out in their due course of time, your love and marriage will too, because it was dependent on those selfish reasons that were holding the alliance together.

How can you fall-in and out of love? How can you love someone so deeply, that you think you can never love anyone else, and still fall out of love or love a totally different person at a later date, or maybe at the same time?

Earlier, I used to smile when I would hear some women say that they expect to be swept of their feet by a knight in shining armour. How selfish is that, and how ironical that it is to be tied to the institution of love and marriage? Expecting to be swept of their feet implies just standing there and doing nothing, and expecting someone to come by and do all the hard work that love and relationships entail. You will have heard of other connotations to this statement: waiting for the right one to come along, expecting diamonds because you guess you are worth it…

A woman asking me for advice told me that she was agreeable to sharing her body with her husband, but not her personal living space and material possessions, and she was adamant about it. With knowledge of similar facts, I could very well argue for the case that marriage is disguised prostitution, a legal form of a bartering system at best. Westerners will be very familiar with agreements such as the pre-nuptial agreement. Some would say that this is for the best, that they are being prudent. Can you share your body, mind and soul with a person you can’t trust with your possessions? Is that love? Marital vows require you to take the good with the bad – for sickness and health, for richer or poorer… Why would you prepare for an exit strategy only when things go bad, especially when you promise otherwise? Doesn’t a pre-nup, pre-suppose a divorce even before the marriage has commenced? Why marry in that case?

Some say their love is pure and long lasting. It will never disintegrate no matter what obstacles come in the way. Can you love after infidelity? Can you love a person who’s killed someone you loved? (Friends are known to hate each other for lifetimes when boy/girl friends are merely “stolen”).

Some people say Love is a feeling. Personally, I think love is a choice: I know my lover has these good qualities and these bad qualities, and yet I want/choose to love him/her; and with this mindset comes the feeling associated with love. I have to choose to love the soul of the person, so that if external parameters change, I will still love the person. This kind of love will not demand commercial fulfilment on Valentine’s day, for you would then love because you want to and you have the capacity to, not because it will be reciprocated in ways that you deem fit, or conform to societal norms.

If you have read up to this point, you will have called me a pessimist. And it is not that I have not seen instances of true love; it’s just that that their statistical reality is negligible and that was what prompted me to write this article. I don’t have any intention to sound philosophical or appear preachy. My only quest is to get you thinking and hope that resulting actions born from such reflection will lead to truer wholesome love relationships.

Many of us smile at people because we are happy and our smile would possibly brighten the day for others. We don’t hope to receive the smile in return, but are ecstatic if that happens. Love in that way too, because you have love to share, with no  hope of return or a benefit motive – this may not make a difference to someone else’s life, but it will surely change yours for the better.

I come back to my original question: is it possible to love without reservation? Remember, the best answers are in your heart – that can never be disguised. And after you have answered that, maybe you can come to the fore and tell everyone why Love is not just another dirty four-letter word.

This entry was posted in Love and marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fallacies of life: Love and Marriage

  1. Hello! Welcome back to the blog-o-sphere. I thought I’d come and offer some discussion.

    On Love:
    Just because you haven’t experienced love doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. It’s sad, but not a prerequisite for it’s validity. Now, do I achieve this sort of love? No, not all the time, but I get glimpses of it. Generally, those are the best parts of my life in all honesty, I strive to do it more often.

    Now, the question of “where is God when evil is happening?” or “why does God allow sin to exist” is a fun one. Basically it boils down to His will to allow us free will. You cannot say people have freewill and then turn around and protect them from the effects. That would be a contradiction.

    “Do you feel secure of spousal love in the protective cocoon of your marriages?” Yes, 100%. I’m not sure what else to say to this. “Would you want to maintain a marital relationship if you know there can be no sexual love?” I did it for years, and would have my entire life. So, yes. I’m very fortunate that things changed. “Would you be willing to go to jail, be used, or die for a person just because you love them?” I have no idea where this question comes from. Nowhere in the Bible does it justify breaking a law because you love your spouse. We are called to love and follow God above all else. Our commitment to our spouse does not override that.

    “Would you be willing to give up someone you love to someone you despise, and live the rest of your life either alone or with someone you don’t care about just because love demanded it?” Could you come up with a scenario where this might happen? I’m having trouble understanding what you mean here.

    “If you women would not want to marry such a man, why would you want to go to his church and pretend to abide by his love rules?” In our culture, people don’t get married sight-unseen. Likewise, nowhere does the Bible suggest we are to follow blindly. In many places it tells us to test God, to try and see if its a better life. I can attest that every time I step closer to God, my life improves. I’m not talking about prosperity gospel, but rather, that I am happier in my life, regardless of circumstances, and those around me are as well.

    On Marriage:
    “On closer scrutiny, much to your astonishment, you will find there is nothing (or hardly anything) in that list of what you want to contribute to for that someone you are willing to “profess” love for.” This sentence makes no sense. I have absolutely no idea what your getting at.

    “Can you love after infidelity?” Yes. Seen it many times.

    I agree, love is a choice.

    “I have to choose to love the soul of the person, so that if external parameters change, I will still love the person.” This is not right. A person does not have a soul, a person is a soul.

    “If you have read up to this point, you will have called me a pessimist.” Nope. I think it’s sad you are missing the point, but the word pessimist never crossed my mind.

    “And it is not that I have not seen instances of true love; it’s just that that their statistical reality is negligible and that was what prompted me to write this article.” That’s unfortunate. The Bible teaches us to gather those around us who can teach us what we can to grow into. You should surround yourself with people who understand love if you want to understand it.

    Why is love not just another four letter word? Because without it, life is based on fear, but with it, life is amazing.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and giving the chance to discuss!

    • faithbond777 says:

      Hi Jay Dee

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. I must confess, I didn’t plan on someone dissecting my article to such a degree, but I am happy that you did.

      Based on your previous writing, or rather your article which I read, I thought you would be more apt to comment on my abstinence article, rather than the love fallacies one. This is still on faithbond777.wordpress.com, in case you have the time and leisure to go through it.

      Every author of an article writes from his/her perspectives, formed from their experiences in life. The reason I wrote that Love Fallacies article, is that personally I find that [most] of the true love I see around is fake (according to me). In my 44 years, if I have not seen (a majority) of reasons to write positively about love, that says volumes about my environment; and from how you responded to it, it seems more of an ideal rather than a norm.

      The question of why does God allow sin to exist”, as you say, is a fun one. But it points out that if things / everything happens (including what you ask for) only with God’s sanction, nothing can happen without it, which makes the Christian God an accessory to everything / all events that manifest in the world. How could He not allow you to be tempted beyond your capacity and yet not be a party to it? Apply that to a real world scenario and see if it makes sense.

      A woman can probably maintain relationship without sexual love, but not a man. Sex is to a man what romance is to a woman. Both have that barter in marriage / relationship. Ask a woman if she would stay in a marriage where there is no love, or a man, no sex, both/most will say no.

      The stuff about jail and others (would you be willing to forsake love…), was put there just to test the extent one would be willing to go, if they loved their partner, to weed out selfless love. It has no connection with the bible. But if you wanted to connect it, I guess, even the apostles (Judas, Peter) showed no such determination to love and prove their loyalty to Jesus in times of need towards the end.

      I never said marry with your eyes closed, but I feel most people do, in connection to the essence and spirit of marriage. Why does one marry today? What makes one decide to marry person A instead of person B, who is equally good and deserving? You will find that most, if not all, of these reasons are selfish and/or commercial. How many woman will marry a man just because he is good, and not because he is rich? How many men would marry a woman because she fits into a certain acceptable visual mold or has something that is advantageous to him? And despite all this, I yet see marriages that I give a tick mark to, unions that baffle me in this commercial and materialistic age. So, it’s not that it does not exist, it’s just that it’s a rarity.

      Love after infidelity is something I have not seen except in the cases where one spouse (usually the woman) is dependent on the other (financially or otherwise). There may be forgiveness in a rare exception, but there would never be trust, which makes the marriage not something worthwhile in the long run. This statistical reality (at least in my environment) is unfortunate, which makes me more of a pessimist than you, I presume.

      I would be happy to debate on any topic if you wish.

      Faithbond777@gmail.com

  2. First, thank you for allowing me to find your blog. 🙂

    Next, quite a read.

    And as stated above, I would not call you a pessimist, it did not cross my mind either. As I read I could empathize. Not in all areas, but in many.

    I once judged love to be, well, to put it bluntly, just plain stupid. I did not believe that it existed, thanks to my environment. Abuse, divorce, alcoholism, you name it.

    It was not until I learned more of my Faith, and allowed myself to Be Loved by God that I am now able to say that yeah, love exists. And yup, He is Love.

    In order for me to say that, a lot had to happen. A lot of bad 😉 Followed by amazing good.

    I know, seems cryptic, but bottom line is when you surrender. And I mean surrender to realizing that we have no control. That the way to love is to give, freely and believe it or not, without strings, that one finds love.

    My fave has been via working with youth. I have been Blessed enough to be in ministries where I have shared my sinful, fallen nature and it was through that…that I felt Him. Helping and giving.

    As for loving after infidelity…It’s not easy. I know 😉
    But it does and can happen. But not on our own. Believe me, I tried.

    Let Go and Let God.

    Words to meditate upon and try to live by…again, NOT easy 😉

    God Bless †

    • faithbond777 says:

      My sympathies to you. I sincerely hope you have a better and happier life ahead.Based on life’s feedback – what you refer to as the result of your environment – I am no longer part of any religion. (The monkey experiment: http://themetapicture.com/monkey-experiment/ will enlighten you on how religions are formed). My faith has been dwindling ever since I wrote the “Abstinence” article. I then read several books about Christians leaving the faith (and the Osho ones I mentioned in my other response) and I decided “religion” is not for me. Rather, I focus more on being spiritual that does not come with the side effects of religion (i.e. don’t do this, or you will go to hell; do that, its good for your soul, etc.). But then, what can I say, to each his/her own path.

      • I will check out that experiment, though I must admit, I am rather afraid of monkeys. 😉
        For some it’s snakes, others spiders, still others bugs, etc. but for me, monkeys! LOL!

        Agreed to each his own.
        Though I must disagree about the don’t do part. As Catholic, it is all about Love and Yes.
        Sadly, many misinterpret her teachings.

        As for the flaws of anything touched by humankind, I am the first to recognize and acknowledge it. We are fallen creatures 😉
        But Hope and Love survive ♥

Leave a comment